3D Review – Hasbro’s my3D

At first glance, Hasbro’s my3D iPhone/iPod viewing attachment looks like an April Fool’s joke gone horribly wrong. Bearing a uncanny resemblance to the classic View-Master toy, the my3D might look like a piece of tech from last century, but surprisingly impresses with a robust starting lineup and completely reasonable asking price.

A Toy or the Key to an 3D Enabled World?

If Hasbro’s my3D had a catchphrase “Looks can be deceiving” would be the perfect fit. It really is the futuristic plastic cousin of the classic View-Master toy that first surfaced in the late 1930s. Not only does the my3D sport a similar look to the iconic View-Master, it capitalizes on the same stereoscopic eye trickery to bring still and moving images to life. By keeping your head and eyes attached to the black and blue googles the my3D doesn’t suffer from the “sweet spot” issues that early adopters of Nintendo’s 3DS have complained about.

This fixed view point makes the my3D’s visuals really pop, but creates it’s own issues due to the complete immersion the product provides. After 5 to 10 minutes I found myself needing to take a break because my eyes were working overdrive only fixating on the stereoscopic images flickering in front of my eyes. The my3D also uses the iPod/iPhone’s tilt sensor to create 360 degrees of movement, which sounds great in theory, but can be completely disorienting after you remove your focus from the head piece.

Plus, don’t expect to be picking up any strange sporting this tech gear at the local bar… retro sheik is so last year.

Warning - my3D = Poon Repellent

The hardware requires no batteries and is extremely simple to set up. The current version comes with 3 case trays supporting all current iPhone 3G and above handsets, and should be easily updated if Apple goes with a new hardware design in the future. Each unit also has it’s own serial number that consumer’s are instructed to enter once they download the main my3D app from the iTunes store.

CLOSING COMMENTS

It’s clunky and goofy looking, but the my3D delivers on it’s promise – a cost effective way to view 3D in the comfort of your own home. If you’re remotely interested in viewing media in a whole new dimension then run down to the local Target and pick one up.

DigitalNipples Hasbro’s my3D Score – 8 out of 10

About Rick Mears

Just a gigolo.

Posted on December 16, 2011, in 3DNipples, iPad and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

